top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegoldenaimee

Tips for moving out of state.

I've lived in 5 different states (UT, NV, TX, CA, AZ) so you'd think I'd be a pro at big moves...nope. Hah, it's still hard, still stressful and still time consuming. But I have learned a lot of things along the way.





The first thing I will say is it's SO much easier moving to a state you're familiar with. Then you have an idea of where your going to be, whats around, etc. I personally have moved to all my states unknown of what is out there (except CA)...that's just how I roll lol





If you don't have the chance to get to know the area, here's some tips that might help:


Google, Google, Google: Look up everything. Things to do, safest places to live/visit. Read about the city or state you want to move to.




Google Maps/Street view. Browse the streets! I've spent hours on google maps just creeping around the area. It's really nice to see what the area looks like in person. Plug in an address and search away!


Click on the streets and the screen will move with you allowing you to explore.

Read reviews: For everything. Apartments, Neighborhoods, Local places, parks...everything. Don't let reviews scare you as some people can be very picky but definitely trust your gut.





Be prepared to spend money: Moving trucks can cost up to $700 (depending where you're going), Plus you have pay for ALL the apartment stuff like pro-rated rent and leasing fees. Gas and hotel, etc...it can get pricey.




As for a job in another state, this is never an easy thing. Just apply and snag those phone interviews. Rob and I have moved without having a job and luckily we've been able to get one with time but I can't say that will always be the case. Just be smart and make sure you have the funds in case you might be unemployed for a little bit.


That's really all I have! Don't stress too much, once you have a plan and a time frame, it gets a little easier. Good luck!


-xoxo, Aimee





118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page