top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegoldenaimee

The Denzel & Aimee Story

Oooooh! My best friend made it to the blog!




Denzel and I met on the internet, where apparently I meet all my men... I was currently living in Dallas, TX (I've moved around a lot!) and I was working as a bartender and living alone and I thought I needed a dog...because I totally assumed caring for a dog was easy. Good grief was I wrong. Anyway, after searching days and weeks on Craigslist, I came across Denzel and immediately was like "That's the one!" Of course the photos were blurry and awful since this was back in 2012. But I just knew. So I emailed the owner and found out he was almost two hours away and being a young, broke, girl, I was like I can't waste my gas on that! They were asking $150 and I was able to haggle them down to $50 (what a steal!) since I had to drive so far and they wanted to re-home him asap. So I got my $50 and went to pick up my new puppy!




Having a puppy as a single parent was ridiculous! He was such a tyrant. I lost so many shoes and bags and so much stuff got peed on. I don't even know why I bothered with puppy pads, he liked my carpet more! I was always exhausted and fed up but then I looked at his little face and was like fine, you win.




I bought Denzel when he was three months old, he'll be eight in February (cue the tears!) so we've been partners in crime for quite some time. He's also a weird breed called Chiweenie. Half Chihuahua, half Dachshund. He definitely has more Dachshund in him though, so I'm obsessed with all the wiener dog stuff! And if he's unsure about you, he gives you the side eye so watch out if you see that. 



I actually brought Denzel with me from LA to SLC when I visited my sister in 2014 and met Rob for the first time. I remember when Rob got in my car, there was a dog bed in the passenger seat and I said "Oh yeah, you have to sit in the back." haha! Just kidding, but I think from that moment, Rob realized how important Denzel was to me and he would always come first (sorry Rob). I'm really happy they get along and love each other! Sometimes I feel like Denzel likes Rob more and I have to remind him who raised him and put him back in his place.



Denzel played a big part in our wedding! He walked down the aisle with my brother and hung out with the groomsmen. He was also the most handsome man there!




He's a great pup and I can't imagine life without my little flounder. His favorite snack is carrots and he loves to rip apart anything that has fluff and a squeaker in it. My house is literally fluff 90% of the time. He's so smart too! He knows how to get toys from his bin and high five! Next time you see him, ask for a high five. You won't be disappointed.



We've lived in four states together, I think California is his favorite too. And he's such a sun puppy! He loves to hike and be outside. I'm lucky enough to have such a loyal, loving sidekick in my life and I think its safe to say we put smiles on each others faces. 







19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page