top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegoldenaimee

Solo Trips to Disneyland!

Updated: May 22, 2019

This might sound lame, boring and lonely...but I can assure it's more fun than you think!




When I moved from Orange County to Salt Lake, I already knew I was going to be back visiting California within the first month...sure enough I booked my first trip within a few weeks. I asked Rob if he wanted to go and he couldn't due to work. So I was like "Well, it cant be that bad to travel solo." I used to go to Disneyland alone in the mornings during the week while Rob was at work when we lived in California. So I assumed it'd be like that, just longer. 




It was actually was one of the best trips I've ever taken! Sure I love being with people and hanging with a group. But the freedom to do literally whatever you want is the best feeling ever! Most of the time I start off alone and sometimes meet friends later in the day (they usually have a more firm schedule than I do) So I get a little bit of the best of both worlds. I'm gonna share some tips and tricks with you guys so you can head to the happiest place alone! 




First, lets go over the travel part:

  • I usually book my trips though travel websites such as Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity. I spend hours, sometimes days searching for the best deal. I always look for bundles (plane, hotel and car) they are usually cheaper than buying separately. I will sometimes stay with friends as well (Thank you guys!). I've done at least 10 solo trips in last 6 months so I like to think I'm a pro. But I still run late, almost miss my flights and forget so much haha! I also HATE planes. When there is rough air I will absolutely grab the person next to me. That's something I hate about flying alone. I always just have carry-on and a personal item, that way its easy for me to grab my stuff and go. Especially for morning flights when I'm going to Disneyland right after I land. Car rentals are fun too! They will usually work with you if you're a smaller party, so sometimes I get upgrades to nicer cars for free! No idea how nice they are until I tell Rob what I got and he's jealous though haha! (The convertible was my favorite so far).


Disneyland alone!:

  • Trams: Since I'm only one person, I can squeeze into small spots. If the line is short enough I usually always just walk right onto the tram. There's always an awkward single seat somewhere that I can snag! If the lines for security or the tram are too long, I will opt to walk through Downtown Disney. I'm a fast walker so I usually whip past everyone (long legs I guess). 

  • Rides: Sometimes I will get a fastpass for rides that usually have a longer single rider line. Indiana Jones and Splash Mountain single rider is sometimes about 20-40 minute wait. Matterhorn and Space Mountain have the quickest single rider line. Cars and Incredicoaster are hit and miss. Incredicoaster does stop the single rider lines in the afternoon on some days. Single rider lines either have their own line, share with the fastpass line or have you enter through the exit. The Cast Member at the fastpass kiosk or the front of the ride will tell you where to go from there! Here's a list of all the single rider lines at the Disneyland resort.


Disneyland and California Adventure single rider lines:

Indiana Jones Adventure

Space Mountain

Splash Mountain

Matterhorn Bobsleds

Radiator Springs Racers

  Incredicoaster

Grizzly River Run

Goofy's Sky School



Some rides will give you a Single Rider card. You can grab this from the Cast Member at the front of the ride.

Other rides will have a sign showing you where the single rider line starts.

  • Parks: I like to try to get to the parks at rope drop because that's when the parks are most empty. That way I can get all the non-single rider rides out of the way (Haunted mansion, Pirates of the Caribbean, Star Tours, etc...). By 1:00 pm, I'm pretty much done with all the rides (or at least most of them)! And it's super nice because then I have the rest of the day to shop, see parades,  watch shows, or even just hang out! 

  • Shows, Parades and Fireworks: Being one body, its very easy to get up front spots for every show and parade. Even moments before they start. I've gotten some amazing views even for the more popular shows on opening night! I just scout the area, see an open space and duck under the rope! This makes it nice that I don't have to wait hours for a good spot as you normally would with a bigger party. 


Photos:

  • This is definitely the tricky part of a solo trip. With friends and other people, you're almost guaranteed a good photo shoot. When you're alone you have to be patient and kind. I always ask strangers that aren't rushing. Remember, most guests are on vacation and don't wanna spend a long time taking pictures of your outfit. You kinda have to take what you can get. I usually will tell them what I'm wanting, "I'm trying to get a picture of the shirt", "Will you take a picture of me looking at the Fun Wheel"...things like that. Then they have an idea and can be quick. All of my 'stranger' photos have turned out adorable so far! Also Cast Members are a huge help. They know the social media world so sometimes they will be a little more willing to take extra time. I always look for a Cast Member that isn't busy or occupied! Also, you can work on your selfie arm and have some cute selfies!




I personally really enjoy being independent, so solo trips are one of my favorites things! Definitely give it a try if you ever get the chance, even if it's for a short day. I thought I was a weirdo for going alone when I was a local, but it grew on me quick! And now that I don't live near a park, I'll take any Disney trip I can get!





78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page