top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegoldenaimee

Jurassic World 5K at Universal Studios Hollywood.

When I heard that Universal Studios Hollywood was having a Jurassic World 5K, I knew I had to be there! If you're new around here...I LOVE Jurassic Park, dinos are my favorite things! This was also my very first official race which was so exciting but I had no idea what to expect. It turned out to be so much fun and I honestly can't wait till the next one!






Rob and I were staying in Orange County because the deals were better but the 5K was in LA so we knew we'd be up early to make the drive. Waking up at 3:30 am sucked but I didn't have my packet yet and wanted to make sure I got everything without stressing! We got there around 5am and had more than enough time for everything



They had photo ops in the packet pick up area.

The packet included a T shirt, Blue pin and backpack! The package I got was $65 and I feel it was worth it for everything we got including the race.



Shirt is the one I'm wearing in all photos.


After getting my packet, we waiting in line for about 45 minutes. They don't have assigned corrals, you kind just get in a line and then they send off groups every 5 minutes which was nice because you can pretty much line up anywhere without stressing about where to be!



Finally at 6:30, we were off!



A 5K race is 3.1 miles which doesn't sound like a lot but let me tell you, in a theme park with turns and hills it definitely got tough at times! The route took us all over the upper lot of the park through Springfield and Hogsmeade and so much of the back lots. We got to walk on sets!


This road is the start of where the Studio Tour drives.




My favorite part was walking in the Jurassic Park area from Studio Tour. They had all the props from all the movies out for photos!


Spinosaurus from Jurassic Park III.


Dilophosaurus from Jurassic Park.

They also had Blue and Juliet out to cheer us on!






Some other back lots were Amity Island, Whoville, Bates Motel and War of the Worlds set.



Amity Island.

For more behind the scenes, check out the JP 5K highlight on my Instagram @golden_aimeee.

I finally crossed the finished line after an hour and five minutes! I was pretty proud of my time considering all the times I stopped for photos!




I'm in LOVE with the medal, so honored to get the best dino out there!

I HIGHLY recommend doing a Running Universal Race! Runner or not, I feel this was definitely worth it and so much fun. They had something for everyone. You get awesome swag plus behind the scenes experiences. I will be signing up again! For future races, check out the Running Universal site. If you want to see videos from the race, check out my JP 5K highlight on Instagram!









-xoxo, Aimee

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page